un an

Last month, J and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary. It’s hard to believe that it’s been a year since we were married in Franche-Comté.

almostbilingue anniversary flowers

Flowers from J

The date fell on a Sunday, so we actually went out the Saturday before since the restaurant we wanted to go to is closed on Sundays.

For anyone who knows us, it’s probably no surprise that one of our favorite restaurants is a pizzeria, so that’s where we chose to go. It’s also in our neighborhood, and you can build your own pizza from a list of ingredients. (If that’s your thing, and you’re ever in Lille, then you must eat at O Ch’Ti B.)

almostbilingue_anniversary

Enjoying our aperitif before dinner

The day of our actual anniversary, we invited some good friends over for a barbecue and shared the last remaining bottle of Champagne from our wedding.

While we were in Franche-Comté after our Budapest trip, we also partook in another wedding tradition – eating our wedding cake.

Freezing the top layer of your wedding cake is definitely not a tradition in France. For one, the traditional wedding dessert is not a cake.

As it was our baker’s first attempt at making an American style wedding cake, he severely overestimated the amount of cake needed to serve our guests. We ended up with two huge layered cakes!

almostbilingue wedding cakes

I jokingly said that we should freeze one of the top layers. That received some strange looks from my in-laws. Still, never ones to pass up indulging me and my crazy Americanness, my mother-in-law wrapped up the top layer and froze it.

We didn’t think it would survive the hot car trip back to Lille this summer, so we decided just to eat it a little early (that doesn’t cause bad luck, does it?). The cake tasted about the same as I remember (of lots and lots of butter), but we contented ourselves with just a small slice.

almostbilingue_anniversary wedding cake

almostbilingue_anniversary wedding cake

almostbilingue_anniversary wedding cake

After we left, my in-laws invited other family members over and finished the rest of the cake as they found it to be delicious.

Is this a new spin on an old tradition?

Did you introduce foreign traditions at your wedding or plan to do so?

15 thoughts on “un an

  1. I love that you had an American wedding cake! It looks like it was delicious and now I want cake after seeing the pictures. What did your French wedding guests think? (“This is a great idea! We should do this at all weddings”?)

    Like

    • The French guests were curious at first, but they all really liked it. To be fair, I think the guy used a pound of butter so it definitely had a smooth buttery taste (not really my kind of thing) which the French seem to like. They enjoyed the combination of American and French traditions!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Anniversary!
    I love that the baker over baked, seems like such a sweet reaction to something new/unknown. And it’s always better to have too much than not enough!
    I don’t like cake, so I doubt it would make an appearance at my wedding no matter where I had it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Happy Anniversary!

    Looks like there is as much icing as cake! I always wondered how top tiers fared after being frozen for a year, so glad to know it still tasted good. The bakery that did our cake redoes the top tier on your first wedding anniversary. I don’t think they’ll ship it all the way to France though, so my family will get to eat it instead.

    Like

    • Thanks!

      Yep. There was a heavy layer of “pâte à sucre”. Our top tier fared well, but my friend who was married a few weeks before us said hers tasted like ground turkey. I think it helped that the baker used a lot of butter. I’ve heard of bakeries making another cake for the anniversary. That is such a good idea!

      Like

  4. Happy anniversary! I’m not sure whether freezing the cake is a tradition by me, I’ve never really heard of people doing it, but maybe it just doesn’t come up in conversation that often… I would also worry about how it would taste after a year in the freezer, glad it came out okay!

    Like

    • Thanks! I know it’s a tradition that not everyone in these countries follows, but I know it exists in the US and the UK. In the UK, wedding cakes tend to be fruit cakes so they definitely last. Though in the UK, the tradition is sometimes to eat the cake at the christening of the first child. In the past, the tradition was to eat it in after the first child was born, but that’s because it usually came pretty fast!

      Like

  5. I mentioned the anniversary tradition to my in laws the day after the wedding and my father in law immediately went and put some in the ferreted. We’ll see how it tastes in a year—the American wedding guests all have it their seal of approval though I realized I haven’t actually eaten a whole lot of wedding cake in my life to compare it to.

    Anyway happy anniversary to you too!

    Like

    • Thanks!

      And I hope your cake froze as well as ours! It’s so cute to see the French getting in on this tradition once we mention it. I’ve never actually had good wedding cake before. It was always dry or weird or something. Though it’s been quite a few years since I’ve been to a wedding now (the downside of being so far away) so maybe things have changed?

      Like

  6. We had a traditional fruit cake – 30 years ago (eep!) – but ate it all. Good job we didn’t wait for the christening of our first child…it would be a bit stale by now. 🙂 We make Christmas cake to the same recipe which befuddles our French friends. “You make your Christmas cake two months before Christmas?!?!”
    Congratulations on your first anniversary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

