la rentrée (me included)

My teaching days are not over, and I’m not just referring to the English lesson I gave in Bourguignon.

Now, that I am no longer “sans papiers“, I have the right to look for work and to work. I’ve been looking at job ads for months even when I didn’t have the right to work, and I’m currently in actual job searching mode.

Even before my appointment at the Prefecture, one of the potential plans I had was to apply at a language school where a few friends work/worked. In fact, one of my friends was quitting, so I knew they’d have hours available, so why not apply?

almost bilingue la rentree

So that’s what I did. I was called in for an interview right before the Christmas holidays and offered my friend’s hours on the spot.

It’s only a few hours a week at the moment, but as I don’t qualify for unemployment, a few hours is better than no hours. There’s always the potential for more hours as people come and go all the time, so we’ll see.

At the moment, I’m working in three different Catholic primary schools with four different groups of students. It’s been less than 3 weeks so far, and the lessons have varied in terms of success.

Some of the students have been completely adorable (I already have a favorite group), while others make me want to pull my hair out.

Two of the groups are CM1/CM2 (9/10 year olds) and the other two are GS/CP (5/6 year olds). This is my first time working with large groups of children, so I’m learning to discipline at the same time.

I was told to use “time out” with the younger kids, but the one group is so horrible that there are not enough corners in the room to put them in. Needless to say, that did not work and chaos ensued. On the upside, the next lesson went a lot better, so there’s hope. And I know it’s not me. I’ve heard from current and past teachers who worked at that specific school that disciplining the kids there is an issue.

I’m sure I’ll have some stories to tell as the lessons progress.

4 thoughts on “la rentrée (me included)

  1. Good luck. It’s not much better teaching at a French university, behaviour-wise. I’m desperately trying to convince the admin they should give me a contract that may not yet exist in a uni that is bankrupt, in a system that is inflexible and designed to keep experienced people like me out. Ouf!

    Like

    • I really hope you’re able to convince them! And yes, I have experienced these childlike university students before. They might just be worse than children as they should know better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

