christmas in franche-comté

Later in this post: A visit to the Christmas markets in Mulhouse and Montbéliard!

For the Christmas holidays, we made our way down to J’s parents’ in Bourguignon, Franche-Comté. As predicted, the week and a half was filled with lots of food, wine, and of course, family. Just to give you an idea, we had a raclette three times in a week’s time. I think it’s safe to say that we’ve had our fill for this season.

almostbilingue christmas raclette

Raclette

For Christmas Eve, to go along with the massive amounts of food for dinner (though I sit out on a few courses – foie gras and escargots – giving my poor stomach a break. I don’t have the dexterity of the French yet), we picked up two bûches de Noël from our favorite place there Julien Patisserie. He’s the one who made our wedding cake. One was made with mango, passion fruit, and raspberries, and the other was chocolate and coffee flavored. They were both amazingly delicious.

almostbilingue christmas buches

Bûches de Noël

We were spoiled for Christmas this year with a very nice new vacuum cleaner, cheese box (this is France!), wine, chocolate, and other goodies. J gave me with a Kindle which is so cool! It didn’t take me long to start reading.

It also snowed while we were down there. Elliot adored the snow! It was our first time with him in the snow (it never snowed last year) so we weren’t sure how he’d react. I’ll share some photos/videos of him enjoying it next time.

almostbilingue christmas snow

Snow covered Bourguignon

Christmas Markets

I love Christmas markets. Lille’s is so so small and sad and visiting the one in Ypres wasn’t enough for me.

We decided to take a drive to the one in Mulhouse which is just an hour away from Bourguignon. It was definitely my favorite one this year. Even though it was right before Christmas, it wasn’t crowded, allowing us to meander around at our own speed and actually look at what they had to offer. Maybe it’s just me, but I found it far less commercialized than other big Christmas markets.

We also returned to the one in Montbéliard, and unlike the last time, I didn’t forget to take some pictures.

So now, I’ll leave you with some photos from the two Christmas markets.

Marché de Noël de Mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

Us at the market

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

marche de noel mulhouse

Weird statue (Work of art?)

marche de noel mulhouse

Marché de Noël de Montbéliard

marche de noel montbeliard

marche de noel montbeliard

marche de noel montbeliard

Cookies that are made in the area – so delicious! We always stock up when visiting J’s parents.

marche de noel montbeliard

marche de noel montbeliard

Santa made an appearance.

marche de noel montbeliard

These animated bears were rocking out to Christmas music.

marche de noel montbeliard

marche de noel montbeliard

marche de noel montbeliard

How was your Christmas?

Happy New Year! Here’s to 2015!

6 thoughts on “christmas in franche-comté

  1. Nice, I’d like to visit Mulhouse – and one day I’ll get to one of he big Christmas markets, just put off
    By the crowds. Happy new year!

    Like

    • I highly recommend Mulhouse! Maybe it’s because it was a Sunday (but the Sunday right before Christmas) when we went, but the weather was beautiful, and it still wasn’t crowded. I don’t even want to imagine the one in Strasbourg.

      Like

  2. Pingback: elliot dans la neige | Almost Bilingue

  3. The one in Colmar is nice too, and it’s right between Strasbourg and Mulhouse, so not much further to drive/train.

    Still no raclette this winter for us! But Christmas in France for me means foie gras and champagne, both of which I got to enjoy in large quantities, to make up for being pregnant last year, haha.

    Like

    • We visited Colmar (along with Kaysersberg) last year. I really liked it!

      I bet you were happy to be able to enjoy those things again! I go through phases with foie gras… and this year was more of an off phase, but I did enjoy one little piece at J’s uncle’s.

      Like

  4. Pingback: new year’s eve / salsa posada | Almost Bilingue

Leave a Reply

