mariage franco-américain

About a month ago, I posted about wedding prep. Well, the big day has come and gone! It definitely seems to have just flown by. I’m going to try not to ramble on too much here so as not to bore you to death.

My mom (along with an aunt and an uncle) arrived in France a few days before the wedding, and we spent a few days exploring the area with her as it was her first time in France. More on those adventures another time.

We also had some friends that made the trip down including two very dear friends that I haven’t seen in about three years.

First off, I want to say that we couldn’t have done this without the help of J’s parents. They practically organized everything which was such a blessing as we’re not anywhere near the town.

Our other goal was to keep everything simple. We did a lot of the decorations ourselves and with the help of friends and family. I didn’t see myself in a fancy white dress (actually, one of the criteria for the dress was that I could use the restroom by myself). I chose a simple off-white dress from Modcloth. As it was super hot, not having a big dress was definitely a good thing even though I still felt like I was melting most of the day and night.

With the help of them and many of J’s family members, we spent the Friday evening decorating the room for the reception. I didn’t really have expectations, but the finished product definitely surpassed what I thought it would be. We had a big huge barbecue after all the hard work.

Saturday morning, I was up and off to get my hair done followed by makeup straight after lunch. Then, it was time to get dressed and settle on jewelry. I didn’t really have times to let any nerves set in, probably for the best.

We did pictures in a pretty spot by the river first while we were looking our freshest. My “temoine’s” boyfriend takes amazing photos and has access to professional equipment, and he graciously offered to take photos all night. We’ve seen most of the unedited photos, and they are so beautiful!

We did just the required civil ceremony. Unlike most French marriages, ours was not at the town hall, we had special permission from the Prefecture to have it in another of the town’s rooms, because it’s main entrance doesn’t have stairs, and J’s grandmother just had surgery and is unable to go up or down a lot of stairs.

The ceremony went by quickly with some of the mayor’s personal anecdotes from knowing J and his mom. I tried so so hard not to laugh during the reading of the laws about marriage. I did pretty well. And I said “Oui” at the correct moment. J’s goddaughter was the ring bearer. She was super unsure of what was going on, but she was so adorable.

After the ceremony, we had the vin d’honneur and the dinner/reception and tried very very hard not to pass out from the heat. We did a cold spread for dinner which turned out to be a great decision due to the heat. Everyone was able to eat something since it was refreshing. And of course, we had the mandatory cheese course with cheese from the local region and the North!

Our American style wedding cake (or cakes, I should say – the baker overestimated by far the quantity and made two) seemed to be a hit among all the nationalities (we had 5, I think!).

I was confused when people started to leave but were telling me that they’d see me the next day. Well, everyone forgot to mention to me that another tradition was eating lunch together the next day! Sure enough, we had about 30 people eating lunch with us on Sunday and helping to clean up the place.

Now, what I’m sure everyone is waiting for (and possibly skimmed over the post for)…. pictures!

**Note: There are only pictures of us, because I haven’t asked anyone else if I can publish their photo in a public place. Also, thanks to various friends and family members for these photos!

The reception – Decorations

mariage franco-américain - table decorations

 

Table decorations

mariage franco-américain - table decorations

 

Hair and makeup done!mariage franco-américain -hair and makeup

Pictures by the river in Bourguignon

mariage franco-américain -pictures by the river

 

mariage franco-américain -pictures by the river

 

mariage franco-américain -pictures by the river

 

Exchanging rings during the ceremony

mariage franco-américain -ceremony

 

A beautiful picture of J’s goddaughter with the rings (published here only b/c you can’t see her face)mariage franco-américain -ceremony

 

We’re married!!

mariage franco-américain - married!

 

Meeting up with Elliot for the first time after the ceremony. And yes, he was there for that 🙂

mariage franco-américain - after the ceremony

mariage franco-américain - after the ceremony

 

My bouquet which I’m still in love with.

mariage franco-américain - bouquet

 

The huge American style cake(s)! They sure were delicious even if they’re a little lopsided (we had to put them together as the baker wasn’t sure how to transport them otherwise)! We also did the American tradition of freezing the top layer to eat on our first anniversary. And as you can tell by the date on the photo, we didn’t cut it until long after midnight.

mariage franco-américain - the cake

 

And there you have it! Our Franco-American wedding!

If you’re married to someone of another nationality, did you share your traditions during the wedding? Or what are some traditions you want to keep going for your wedding?

 

17 thoughts on “mariage franco-américain

  1. You look beautiful! I love that you combined the two nationalities. I went to a British-French wedding and it was strange but fun to dance through the night until almost dawn. I’m like you- I wouldn’t want a huge dress I needed help to unzip.

    I’m not one for huge engagement rings either, so I think I’d just stick with French wedding bands. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! We didn’t quite make it to dawn ourselves (we were just so exhausted), but some of the guests did! And J’s parents just never went to bed that night!

      That’s all we have – the wedding bands. I’ve noticed recently that a lot of French women just have a simple band.

      Like

  2. I’m not crazy about having an engagement ring either. I would rather spend the money on other things.

    We had some sort of cake with Chartreuse alcohol in it. I think that I would have enjoyed it more had I been hungry.

    I had a no-frills wedding dress too and I’m happy with my dress. I bought it with the mindset that I was going to wear it again, but unfortunately I can’t fit into it anymore!

    I didn’t really follow any traditions – I just wanted to eat good food with my friends and family.

    Congrats and are you going anywhere for a honeymoon?

    Like

    • I was so stuffed after eating dinner that I didn’t touch the cheese course and only had a small piece of cake. Luckily, as we had plenty, I was able to have another slice the next day. So much more enjoyable!

      The most important part for me was having a good time which we did. It sounds like you did as well for your wedding.

      No plans for a honeymoon anytime soon. I had to go back to work two days after, and I won’t finish my internship until the end of September. Though we might try to go somewhere for a long weekend in early October. I can’t leave the country after mid-October (oh the joys of visa renewal – that’ll be another post!), so we’ll see if we have the time and can afford it.

      Like

  3. The hall looks great! The colors work really well together. And your dress is just perfect for a summer wedding!

    I’ve done the lunch thing at other people’s weddings, but for ours, we only went out with the Americas, since we got married in our big town not the in-laws’ town so none of the French guests wanted to drive back down hungover Sunday lol.

    Like

    • Thanks!

      I was a bit upset at first, because no one discussed or even mentioned the plan to me. Plus, I was so so tired and sad (didn’t sleep and had to say goodbye to my mom and good friends that morning). However, in the end, I had a really good time and appreciated the Sunday lunch.

      Like

  4. I really like the decorations! Mint was a really good color choice! The picture of you and your dog is so cute.

    Did an American shop make the cakes or did a French bakery make them?

    Like

    • Thanks! Our original colors were mint and coral but we couldn’t find anything coral colored in France so we had to change.

      It was a French baker who made them. A French baker in a tiny town even! It was his first try at making an American style cake.

      Like

  5. Pingback: christmas in franche-comté | Almost Bilingue

  6. Pingback: un an | Almost Bilingue

Leave a Reply

