thanksgiving!

The past few weeks, I was debating whether or not I wanted to prepare a Thanksgiving meal. It’s actually my favorite meal of the year, because I just adore stuffing and sweet potatoes. Unfortunately, the week of the holiday was fairly hectic for me, and the invitations I received to friends’ events just did not fit in with our schedules. So I kept going back and forth over preparing my own feast, not sure if I would really have the motivation even if I bought all the ingredients necessary.

Cut to Thanksgiving day. After a long day (including a presentation in my law class), I felt really depressed that I wouldn’t be partaking in any Thanksgiving festivities. J surprised me with a very pretty orchid, but it didn’t do too much to lift my spirits. For some reason, missing Thanksgiving hits me more than missing Christmas at home. Probably because Christmas is still celebrated here. I ended up consoling myself with a PB&J sandwich for dinner and preparing a list of ingredients for a Thanksgiving feast.

Friday evening until Saturday evening, I was a nonstop cooking machine. I prepared homemade cranberry sauce, sweet potato casserole (from fresh sweet potatoes, not canned), stuffing loaves (my aunt’s recipe, which is pretty much the best ever), turkey, homemade gravy, and a pumpkin pie. We feasted on these yummy dishes Saturday night (accompanied by some French wine, of course) and then again twice more on Sunday. Even Elliot enjoyed some turkey. And the good news is that we still have some stuffing and pumpkin pie left.

Stuffing loaves

Stuffing loaves

Pumpkin pie

Pumpkin pie, complete with my first ever homemade crust

Thanksgiving

All the Thanksgiving fixings (minus the pie)

What holidays do you really miss from your home country?

4 thoughts on “thanksgiving!

  1. I must admit, I wasn’t a fan of a lot of the menu the one time I attended Thanksgiving (we do not share the same opinion of sweet potatoes…) Those stuffing loaves though, they look amaaazing!

    Like

  2. I miss Thanksgiving the most. I’ve only missed one Christmas so far in the States, but, like you said, it wasn’t as bad because they celebrate Christmas here, too. Now that my boyfriend and I have decided to stay in France for the foreseeable future, I probably won’t make it back for a genuine Thanksgiving for a few years.

    Your stuffing looks so good, and so does the pumpkin pie!

    Like

    • I find making my favorite recipes from back home helps a lot. And my boyfriend loved them! I definitely encourage you to try having one in France. It’s fun to introduce the Frenchies to the food!

      Like

Leave a Reply

