say fromage take deux!

I swore I would keep up with this blog a lot better than my old one, but here I am, updating after a 3 week absence. Oops. I did not mean to let it go that long.  I wish I could say that it’s my classes that are taking up all of my free time, but other than the (sometimes inconvenient) commute, that’s really not true. It’s more like extreme and utter hatred for my program that demotivates me from doing pretty much anything productive. More on that another time.

Instead, I’d love to share with you some of the yummy meals we have had since returning to Lille from Franche-Comté. Winter is rapidly approaching with many places in France already experiencing their first snowfall of the year (luckily, Lille has remained snow free), so it’s the perfect time for some heart cheese meals.

For the November 11th holiday, we enjoyed a very delicious fondue. It was a mix of 3 cheeses: Vieux Comté, Comté fruité, and emmental. Needless to say, it was very yummy and very very filling.

Fondue

Fondue

Today, we enjoyed a Mont d’Or chaud. It’s a fairly simple dish that involves baking a Mont d’Or cheese (only available at this time of year) and then pouring it over some potatoes and/or charcuterie. We’re currently still sipping on some wine from the Jura that was also used in the baking process. What could go wrong with baking cheese with some wine? Absolutely nothing.

Mont d'Or chaud

Mont d’Or chaud

And for good measure, we enjoyed a bottle of this year’s Beaujolais Nouveau last night while watching the Doctor Who 50th anniversary special. I think I’ve consumed more wine this weekend than I have in the past few months combined.

Beaujolais Nouveau

Beaujolais Nouveau

And randomly, here’s Elliot being super cute and very very French. For the record, when I took my scarf off him, he got very upset and tried to take it back.

French Elliot

French Elliot

Leave a Reply

